Vegan Kale, Carrot, and White Bean Stew

Lacinato kale

Lacinato kale

I adapted this recipe from this one: http://www.joanneweir.com/recipes/soups/farro-white-bean-and-kale-stew/#.U1GcWNeKCCp  Even before I decided to go plant-based I decided against using the pancetta and chicken stock called for in this recipe. On a personal note I really dislike using meat stocks in dishes that have no meat in them at all to begin with. I also make it with the farro, and sometimes with barley. I left the grain out this time since I was also making a side dish. Leaving the farro out makes it more friendly for gluten-free diets as well. If you are making it with farro, you might need another two cups of stock (or water).

I recommend Tuscan aka Lacianto kale, it’s more tender and cooks a bit faster than the usual supermarket kale.

2 cans cannelloni beans (white kidney beans)
1 tablespoon coconut oil (you can use olive oil or your oil of choice)
1 medium to large yellow onion, largish dice
2-3 carrots (I like carrots and use more, and if I’m using rainbow carrots I’ll use each color) sliced in 1/4″ thick coins
3-4 celery ribs, sliced
1-2 sprigs fresh rosemary, thyme (fresh sage or winter savory work here, too)
2 cloves garlic, minced  (OR garlic powder/granules to equivalent)
1 bag of organic Tuscan kale  (I use Trader Joe’s) or a standard bunch of kale, leaves and ribs, cut into 1-inch pieces
1 qt vegetable stock (If I don’t have my own made, I use the organic low sodium one from Trader Joe’s)

Melt coconut oil or heat olive oil in a good size soup pot.( I use a 4 qt pot.)
Add onions and celery and carrot, saute until onions start to turn translucent.
Add kale (I toss the contents around often at this point because it’s getting crowded in there. Don’t worry if the pot looks full, the kale will cook down) and continue to cook the veggies together until kale starts to wilt. The add the stock and bring to a simmer.
While the pot is simmering, drain and rinse the beans.  Dump ONE can into a blender or into a container deep enough for an immersion blender. If you need to, you can add some unsweetened almond milk to help them get smooth.
Add the whole beans and the pureed beans to the pot.
Simmer uncovered (covered if you like, but I think the kale stays greener uncovered) until the kale and or carrots are as tender as you prefer, 40-50 minutes

The pureed white beans makes this creamy and rich.

NOTES: If you prefer a soupier texture, add plant milk. You can also dice your veggies smaller if you prefer.
I season this in the bowl rather than in the pot because each person in this household prefers different levels of salt and pepper. I love a sprinkle of Himalayan salt and lots and lots of pepper.

Leave a Reply

